Skip To Main Content

Menu Trigger

Mobile Nav

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors set the aims and objectives for the School, using their unique insights and diversity of knowledge, skills and experience to help lead our strategic direction.


Stewart J MacAulay

Headshot of Chair of the Board of Governors, Stewart MacAulay

Educated at The High School in Elmbank Street between 1964-1973, Stewart moved into a management training programme within the retail motor industry straight from school.

He joined Arnold Clark Automobiles in 1980 as Parts Marketing Manager and became part of the Senior Management Team which oversaw one of the most successful expansions of a family owned business in the UK during the next 39 years. He retired as Aftersales Director in 2019 having had responsibility for approximately 3,500 staff spread over 176 locations.

Married to his wife, Katy, for over 40 years, both their children, Fraser and Fiona, attended the School. Although living in Bearsden, Stewart also spends time visiting his cottage in Dornoch where he enjoys life in the Highlands. He is a member of both Royal Dornoch and Glasgow Golf Club.

He has been a Governor of the School for twelve years, becoming Chair in 2018.

Vice Chair

Paula Galloway FCA

Headshot of Vice Chair of the Board of Governors, Paula Galloway

Paula is originally from Dublin, Ireland, where she qualified as a Chartered Accountant. She worked in Hong Kong for five years with KPMG in their audit practice.

After moving to Glasgow, Paula continued to work with KPMG and latterly as a Partner with French Duncan LLP, before retiring in 2019.

As well as being a lay member of Court at Strathclyde University, Paula is a keen golfer. She is a member of Douglas Park Golf Club and Lundin Golf Club in Lundin Links.

Married to Wilson, who she met whilst working in Hong Kong, Paula has two children, Sarah and Andrew, both of whom attended The High School of Glasgow.

She has been a Governor of the School for 12 years, Chairs the Finance Committee and was appointed Vice Chair of the Board of Governors in 2018.

Board of


Dr Natalie Crick

BA (Hons) Oxon, MA Oxon, DPhil

P Barrie Gray
Monica N Gupta

BSc (Hons), MBChB (Hons), MD FRCP

Andrew Howie
Colin M Mackie

BSc (Hons)

Fraser McQuarrie

MRICS, MSc, BSc (Hons)

Stephen C Miller

WS LLB (Hons), Dip L

Jess Panesar


Simon Pengelley


Julie Rose


Dr Catherine M Stephen


Margaret A Stewart

LLB (Hons), Dip LP, DFM

Karen Trickett

MA (Hons)

Neil Watson
J Greig Williamson

Where Next?

Leadership Team

Introducing the members of our Leadership Team at our Junior and Senior Schools.

Meet Our LEadership Team

Our Stories

Every individual that goes on The High School journey leaves with a story to tell!

Read Our Stories

Our History

Discover more about our long and illustrious history, spanning back nearly 900 years.

Explore Our History