This site uses cookies and other tracking technology to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of our products and services, assist with our promotional efforts, and provide content from third parties.


Young Musicians of the Year 2019

19 June 2019 | Tagged: Senior School, Music, Competitions, School Community

The High School community enjoyed another memorable night of music-making at Monday evening's Young Musicians of the Year Final for 2019.

The external adjudicators of this year's final were Fraser MacAuley, former High School pupil and current Professor of Oboe at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London, and Graham Dickie, Artistic Director of Musical Theatre at The Dance School of Scotland. They were tasked with selecting who would be crowned winners in the Young Singer and Young Instrumentalist of the Year categories. 

The first half of the night saw a number of impressive performances from the competing finalists, as well as from the previously selected Vocal and Instrumental Ensemble of the Year winners. 

The second half continued with performances from the 'Rising Stars' competition, which recognises the talents of some of the School's budding musicians from Transitus-S2, and from both the Senior School Chamber Choir and 17-strong Fusion Ensemble, before the adjudicators identified the most outstanding performances in each category, awarding the prizes to the Young Musicians of the Year for 2019:

  • The Marianne Rawles Award for the Young Instrumentalist of the Year - Amelia Neilson (S4) (pictured above left)
  • The Iain Paterson Award for the Young Singer of the Year - Lucy Goodwin (S6) (pictured above right)
  • Peter Douglas Award for the Ensemble of the Year (Instrumental) - Saxophone Quartet, consisting of Daniel Ault (Baritone Saxophone), Constance Campbell (Tenor Saxophone), Amelia Neilson (Alto Saxophone) and Andrew Whitelaw (Soprano Saxophone) (all S4).
  • Peter Douglas Award for the Ensemble of the Year (Vocal) - Vocal Octet, consisting of Euan Dunbar, Lucy Goodwin, Millie Haldane, Pippa Newbery, Juliet Nilsen, Kai Ross, Sebastian Schneeberger (all S6) and Fergus Inns (S4).
  • Rising Stars (Trans-S2) Singing AwardCameron Davies (Transitus)
  • Rising Stars (Trans-S2) Overall Winner and recipient The Fraser MacAulay Award - Zixuan Yao (Violin) (S2)
Back to News