This site uses cookies and other tracking technology to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of our products and services, assist with our promotional efforts, and provide content from third parties.


Senior Prizegiving 2019

27 June 2019 | Tagged: Senior School, School Community, Events

The 2019 Senior School Prizegiving took place on Thursday 27th June at Old Anniesland as the School celebrated the year's academic achievers.

The ceremony opened with a hymn and a prayer from Reverend Graeme Wilson, before Chair of the Board of Governors, Mr Stewart MacAulay, presiding over his first Senior School Prizegiving as Chair, spoke about some of the events of the School year at Board level.

The Rector, Mr John O'Neill, shared with the audience the numerous achievements from pupils of the School over the past year before bidding farewell to staff leaving the Senior School this summer - Head of PE, Mr David Barrett, Deputy Rector, Mr Graeme Robertson, Head of Mathematics, Mr Stuart Welsh and sports coach, Mr Scott Inglis.

This year's Guest of Honour was former pupil, Lydia Strachan (Class of 2000), Head of Diversity and Inclusion at The Foreign and Commonwealth Office. She spoke of the privilege that a High School education afford pupils, while pointing out that in this ever changing world, pupils should seek to change the world, rather than allow the world to change them.

The prizegiving ceremony followed on. As is tradition, School Captains, Catriona James and Angus Barrett, announced the prizewinners for 2018/19 - You can view the full list of prize winners by clicking here.

The House Awards were as follows:

  • The Sanderson Trophy for Academic Success - Clyde House
  • The Angus Cameron Quaich for Games - Bannerman House
  • The Hagart Rosebowl for Extra-Curricular Achievement - Bannerman House
  • The Inter-House Shield - Bannerman House

This year's Vote of Thanks was delivered by Girls' Captain Catriona James, before Reverend Wilson gave the Benediction and a rousing rendition of our School Song brought the ceremony to an end.

It is with a heavy heart that the School bids farewell to this year's leavers, the Class of 2019, who have been excellent representatives of the High School.

We hope everyone else has an enjoyable summer break and look forward to welcoming pupils back to school for the 2019/2020 session on Tuesday 27th August.

Back to News