This site uses cookies and other tracking technology to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of our products and services, assist with our promotional efforts, and provide content from third parties.


Scottish Rugby Shield Winners

14 December 2018 | Tagged: Senior School, Sports, Competitions

The Boys' Rugby 1st XV braved a murky night at Murrayfield to win the Scottish Schools U18 Shield Final on Wednesday 5th December.

Having seen off teams from Preston Lodge High School and Robert Gordon's College in the previous rounds, the team came up against Kelvinside Academy in the final. 

A storming first half saw the team quickly establish a big lead, with tries from Ben Hutton, Lawrence Lavizani (both S6), Luke Armstrong and Graeme McDonald (both S5), along with a number of conversions from Luke, seeing the boys go into the break with a 33-10 advantage.

The HSOG team extended their lead early in the second half, with a controlled performance seeing them comfortably victorious. The final score, 45-22, meant that the 1st XV were crowned U18 Scottish Shield winners.

Well done to the 1st XV team:

Sandy Greig (Captain)
Tony FitzGerald
Ben Hutton
Cameron Howie
Séamus Keaney
Lawrence Lavizani
Archie Snedden
Andrew Taylor

Russell Tong
Brodie Wells
Calum Woolard (all S6)

Luke Armstrong
Eoin Cameron
Charlie Campbell
Ewan Forbes
Ross Gray
Adam Ivins

Graeme Macdonald
John Paterson
Guy Rose

David Rowney
Hugo Storrie
 (all S5)

Back to News