This site uses cookies and other tracking technology to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of our products and services, assist with our promotional efforts, and provide content from third parties.


Prizegiving 2017

22 June 2017 | Tagged: Senior School

The 2017 Senior School Prizegiving took place on Thursday 22nd June at Old Anniesland as the School celebrated the year's academic achievers.

A trumpet fanfare by Roberto Muscatelli, James Stewart (both S6) and Zoe Robertson (S5) welcomed invited guests to the ceremony. Chair of the Board of Governors, Mr Brian Adair, and Rector, Mr John O'Neill, both spoke about the highs of the past year at the School before warmly welcoming this year's Guest of Honour. Ms Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw is India’s richest self-made woman and Chairwoman and Managing Director of Biocon Ltd. She was attending the Prizegiving ceremony with her husband Mr John Shaw, a former High School pupil and Vice Chairman of Biocon Ltd.

Named among TIME magazine’s 100 most influential people in the world, Kiran is recognized as a thought leader who has built a globally recognized biopharmaceutical enterprise that is committed to innovation and affordability in delivering best-in-class therapeutics to patients across the globe. Ms Mazumder-Shaw spoke of her career and the massive changes that have happened in the world throughout her lifetime, as well as the importance of positivity and the need for individuals to not only identify the world's problems but also to attempt to find a way to solve them. 

The prizegiving ceremony followed on - You can view the full list of Prizewinners for 2016-17 by clicking here.

The House Awards were as follows:

  • The Sanderson Trophy for Academic Success - Moore House
  • The Angus Cameron Quaich for Games - Bannerman House
  • The Hagart Rosebowl for Extra-Curricular Achievement - Moore House
  • The Inter-House Shield - Bannerman House

This year's Vote of Thanks was delivered by Girls' Captain Stephanie Wood, before Rev Dr Laurence Whitley gave the Benediction at his final High School Prizegiving before retiring from his role as Minister of Glasgow Cathedral next month. A traditional and rousing rendition of our School Song brought the ceremony to an end, with Mr Frikki Walker playing a triumphant piece on the School organ, written especially by S6 pupil Christopher O'Leary, as the gathered crowd said goodbye to Leavers and to the 2016/17 session.

It is with a heavy heart that we say goodbye and wish every success to our 6th Year leavers, the Class of 2017, who have been excellent representatives of the High School. We hope everyone else has an enjoyable summer break and look forward to welcoming pupils back to school for the 2017/2018 session on Tuesday 22nd August.

Back to News