This site uses cookies and other tracking technology to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of our products and services, assist with our promotional efforts, and provide content from third parties.



The Rector has overall responsibility for both Junior and Senior Schools, while both schools are lead by Senior Leadership Teams.

Read our Strategic Plan 




Mr John O'Neill

The Rector is responsible for the overall leadership of the school, liaising with the Governors, the Head Teacher of the Junior School, the Bursar, parents, prospective parents, former pupils, educational bodies and outside agencies. A crucial part of the remit is the selection of pupils and the appointment of staff.

In addition to these areas of responsibility, the Rector deals with the allocation of bursaries and is involved in the financial management of the school and its development.

Rector's Welcome

A personal welcome to the school from the Rector, Mr John O'Neill.

"Children who are happy, respected, secure and encouraged will do well. They will thrive. They will be open to getting involved, working hard and making the most of the opportunities and challenges around them. They will be open to doing their best in every circumstance and to developing a sense of responsibility for themselves and for the needs of others and the wider world.

Here at the High School we are firmly wedded to the belief that to nurture the whole child the values and ethos described above must be provided for within an atmosphere of tolerance, care and positive relationships. These values underpin all aspects of our daily life across classrooms, corridors, expressive arts, sport and beyond. They also allow our young people to have the opportunity to experience an all-round rich and supportive learning environment in which they can develop their potential to the full and are encouraged to aspire for excellence in all they do.

Please do come and visit us, as it is the best way to see how we put the above aims and values into practice. You would be most welcome."


Senior School Leadership Team

Head of Senior School 
Mr Kenneth Robertson

The Head of Senior School deals with the day to day running of the Senior School with a particular interest in the oversight of the Prefect system and Sixth Year, including UCAS procedures. The Professional Review and Development of staff, the organisation of in-service training for staff along with the supervision of induction procedures for probationary teachers and student attachments comes under this remit.  The Head of Senior School is responsible for the production of the School Improvement Plan, oversight of the whole school timetable, parental liaison through the Home and School Association and for public relations in general.  Mr Robertson deals with all staffing issues, with regard to absences, duty rotas and room allocations.


Deputy Head (Teaching and Learning)
Mr Iain Leighton

Mr Leighton has oversight of Fourth and Fifth Year pupils, including curricular advice for S4. Mr Leighton has oversight of the Admissions Office and procedures as well as the organisation of Open Evening and Prizegiving. He has oversight of the Fourth and Fifth Year General Studies courses and the the ICT Management Group and Improvement Plan. He has operational oversight of School ICT and MIS. 


Deputy Head (Academic)
Ms Sharon Gibson

Ms Gibson has oversight of Second and Third Years along with curricular advice for S2. She has overall responsibility for Curriculum (curricular structure, dissemination of information to staff, CfE policy, methodology, etc.) as well as pupil tracking and assessment. She is the SQA Head of Centre with oversight of SQA Co-ordination (prelims, exams, appeals) and the administration of SQA exams as well as having oversight of Internal School exams.  She liaises with the Junior School with regards to Teaching and Learning and has oversight of the Sixth Form Common Room and S3 Monitors. 


Deputy Head (Pastoral)
Mr Philip Graham

Mr Graham has oversight of Transitus and First Year, including Transitus Form Staff and the PSE programme. He organises the Guidance and Pastoral Care, supervising House Staff and allocation of pupils to Houses and has oversight of charitable activities. The areas of Learning Support, Child Protection and Named Person Service also fall within his remit. He has operational oversight of Entrance Tests as well as oversight of DofE and liaison with the Junior School in regards to pastoral matters.


Mrs Juliet Simpson

The Bursar is responsible for all non-teaching staff and related aspects of school management. This includes fees and finance, bursaries, health & safety, cleaning, catering and premises management. The Bursar also acts as Company Secretary to the Board of Governors.


Junior School Leadership

Head Teacher of the Junior School
Miss Heather Fuller

The Head Teacher of the Junior School is responsible for the leadership and management of the Junior School. Miss Fuller organises, plans, monitors and evaluates the curriculum and its delivery and devises the Junior School Improvement Plan. She oversees the Professional Review and Development of all Junior School staff, including organising a programme of Career Long Professional Learning opportunities and she also appoints new staff. Parental and community liaison, promoting the Junior School to prospective parents and selecting new pupils are key roles for the Head Teacher. Miss Fuller is Child Protection Co-ordinator for Junior School.


Deputy Head Teacher of the Junior School
Mrs Gail Morrans


Mrs Morrans deals with the day to day running of the school, including the management, development, monitoring and evaluation of learning and teaching. The pastoral care and welfare of pupils and promoting positive behaviour are key areas of responsibility for Mrs Morrans. She assists with the Professional Review and Development of allocated staff and organises absence cover for the Junior School. Mrs Morrans is the Deputy Child Protection Co-ordinator for Junior School.


Board of Governors

Stewart J. MacAulay (Chair)

Paula Galloway  FCA (Vice Chair)

P. Barrie Gray

Monica N. Gupta  B.Sc. (Hons), MBChB (Hons), MD FRCP

Alan Horn  M.A., LL.B

Eric W. Hugh  C.A.

Margaret McColl  B.Ed (Hons)

Colin M. Mackie  B.Sc.

Stephen C. Miller  WS. LLB (Hons) Dip. L.

V. Anton Muscatelli  M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.E., F.R.S.A.

Simon Pengelley B.A. PGCE

Kenneth Revie  LL.B. (Hons)

Dr Catherine M. Stephen  MBChB, DGM.

Margaret A. Stewart  LL.B (Hons), Dip. L.P., D.F.M.

J. Greig Williamson